Denson has 8 challengers for Choctaws chief

Philadelphia, Mississippi (AP) June 2011

Nine candidates, including incumbent Miko Beasley Denson, are seeking the position of chief of the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.

The June 14 election will include eight positions on the Tribal Council.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The communities of Bogue Chitto, Bogue Homa, Conehatta, Pearl River, Standing Pine and Tucker will elect one member each to the Tribal Council while Red Water community will elect two.

Candidates for Tribal Chief are: Denson, Phyliss J. Anderson, Billy G. Chickaway, Kevin J. Edwards, Louis Ferris III, Joseph Steve, Austin Tubby, Clay Wesley Sr. and Jimmy R. Williams.

Denson was elected in 2007, defeating longtime chief Phillip Martin. Martin died in 2010.